Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-14-2010, 11:10 PM   #1

K-X and infrared photography

I just got my new K-X, and would love to try infrared photography.
I know the K-X can see IR (did the old tv remote test).
Reading through the manual, found out that there is an internal IR monochrome filter. Tried taking a few pictures in monochrome IR filter mode, but they look just like b+w pictures...

Is the K-X internal monochrome IR filter the same thing as the Hoya 72 IR filter? I am new to infrared photography, are IR photographs supposed to look b+w? Are all those amazing pictures I see of IR photography photo-shopped later?

03-14-2010, 11:24 PM   #2
Damn Brit

The internal filter you are talking about is a virtual filter, the Hoya 72 is made of glass and metal so that makes them very different from each other.

Welcome to the forum.
03-14-2010, 11:30 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Augustus58 Quote
I just got my new K-X, and would love to try infrared photography.
I know the K-X can see IR (did the old tv remote test).
Reading through the manual, found out that there is an internal IR monochrome filter. Tried taking a few pictures in monochrome IR filter mode, but they look just like b+w pictures...

Is the K-X internal monochrome IR filter the same thing as the Hoya 72 IR filter? I am new to infrared photography, are IR photographs supposed to look b+w? Are all those amazing pictures I see of IR photography photo-shopped later?
No. Some people use the R72 on the lens front to block almost all but IR light.

This can be a typical result (panasonic FZ1 + R72).

Others purchase or have cameras converted specifically for IR photography. It's done by removing the IR blocking filter and replacing it with an IR filter.

IR converted K20d.

The Problem with the R72 option is the White Balance..