Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2010, 05:27 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Photo Processing Software?

I am actually quite new to Photo Processing. (even newer than taking pictures)

Can anyone recommend a software that is good to start learning on? Would be great if what I learn could apply to more professional programs later.

This doesn't have to be state of the art professional, because I won't be doing heavy processing (yet...).

I have heard GIMP is good.

03-16-2010, 05:34 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by NecroticSoldier Quote
I have heard GIMP is good.
Then try it, it's free! I find myself using that more than anything else, and new features get added to releases all the time. There are even some great books about it that can teach you how to make the most of it. I heartily recommend Akkana Peck's "Beginning Gimp" from apress publishing.
03-16-2010, 07:38 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Photoshop Elements would be another place to start. It is not free, but about $100.

What you learn in Elements can be used later on should you decide to get Photoshop CS4.
Also, Elements come with Adome Camera Raw for processing of PEF/DNG files from your camera.
03-16-2010, 07:51 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I’d recommend lightroom or aperture rather than the more focused photo editing packages. They are useful for beginners and pros, and they can by a one stop shop for importing, managing, editing and publishing your photos. This way you only have to learn 1 program, not separate ones for each step in the process.

03-16-2010, 07:58 PM   #5
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I learned on Paint.net. It's very similar to Photoshop and free. I tried GIMP and although pretty good, the interface isn't easy to learn. Click on Enticing the Light in my signature and it will take you straight to a page full of free software.
03-16-2010, 08:01 PM   #6
Pentaxian