Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-18-2010, 08:58 PM   #1

Pentax MX Film Stuck Inside Camera

Hey Guys. Yes, I'm a newbie and I'm afraid I did a terrible newbie thing. I seem to have gotten the film stuck inside the camera. I had gotten done with the last exposure of the film and I pulled the lever and it wouldn't go any further so I started rewinding it. It has gotten to the point where it is really hard to crank it and when I try to pull up to open the back, it don't go nowhere. I have no idea what I'm doing and I don't want to mess it up any further. The slightest bit of help would be so appreciative. Trust me. It's a Pentax MX just so ya know. Thank you in advance.

03-18-2010, 09:55 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I never owned one, but did download its manual a while ago. There is a little release button (I think it's the one marked '35' in the manual) in the bottom of the camera that you need to press while rewinding.

While rewinding, you will feel a point where friction is higher than before; that is when the film gets pulled out of the 'film pickup spool' (marked '39' in the manual). Just force it a bit (not brute force and ignorance) and after that the rewind should go smoothly as the film is turning in the canister.
Next pull the film rewind know up to open the back.

It's how it always worked on my Minolta and from the pictures in the MX manual it should be the same.

Hope it helps (but re-reading your post, I'm not sure).
03-19-2010, 05:23 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Isn't there a button on the bottom of the camera that you press to release the film advance? EVERY 35mm film slr camera I've ever owned had one somewhere. It sounds like what has happened is you've simply tightened the film in the canister (which is something you want to do if you're going to play with double exposures).

http://www.pentax-manuals.com/manuals/mf/pentax_mx_manual_s.pdf