Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-19-2010, 12:59 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Flash and Kx

With an external flash and the Kx, is it possible to use a flash like the Metz 48 wirelessly without the built in flash firing?. I read the manual with no luck and probably just need to read it again.

03-19-2010, 03:50 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Yes, but you need to buy some radio triggers. Otherwise, how will the camera tell the flash to fire?
03-19-2010, 09:46 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
So I guess an easier way for what I was thinking, is just to mount the flash on the camera and bounce it off something? I'm very new to this so pardon my ignorance. The Kx does work with an external flash wirelessly, correct? It just needs the on board flash to fire as a master?
03-20-2010, 01:38 AM   #4
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Gregor Quote
So I guess an easier way for what I was thinking, is just to mount the flash on the camera and bounce it off something? I'm very new to this so pardon my ignorance. The Kx does work with an external flash wirelessly, correct? It just needs the on board flash to fire as a master?
Yes and no. It CAN work that way, but doesn't have to.

You can choose to use wired/wireless flash triggers too.

Check out this thread HERE for some great information and great visuals of what the product looks like (other similar products will...look similar lol)

Hope that helps.

03-20-2010, 07:35 PM   #5

Photos: Gallery
With an external flash and the Kx, is it possible to use a flash like the Metz 48 wirelessly without the built in flash firing?. I read the manual with no luck and probably just need to read it again.