Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-19-2010, 02:57 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Dropped... Camera...

Guys... I dropped my camera...about 1 feet onto mud. It's a K-X. Everything seems to be fine, but the thing I'm worried about is, did the mirror slap get damaged, or the shake reduction being damaged. What are the easiest things to get damaged when dropping a camera?

Yes, this is probably my second question about damaging my equipment, usually I'm a really really caring guy for my equipment...

Really noob question, never had an expensive camera before, and never dropped an expensive camera before.

03-19-2010, 03:01 PM   #2
Pentaxian

did the mirror slap get damaged? I didn't get that
take a few shots, if everything seems ok then it probably is
03-19-2010, 03:01 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery
I'm no expert, and as much of a Noob as you, but wouldn't the easieast way to find out if you messed it up is to clean it, dry it, and take some shots?
03-19-2010, 03:12 PM   #4
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A main concern, at your place, would be to clean very, very thoroughly your camera and lens from any grain of mud. I would be even more careful when I change my lens next time. A lot of TLC and a wet cloth will do a lot to help. (TLC = tender, love & care.)

I speak from experience with my FZ20, Oly C700 and Oly 790sw in the mud ....

03-19-2010, 03:12 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by The Kurly One Quote
I'm no expert, and as much of a Noob as you, but wouldn't the easieast way to find out if you messed it up is to clean it, dry it, and take some shots?
Eh... It's FINE but... is it GOOD? Yeah I'm pretty noob... and just a bit paranoid. I don't want to waste anyone's time or anything, but is it able to damage the shake reduction? or umm.. the shutter? or the mirror inside?
03-19-2010, 03:25 PM   #6
Inactive Account