Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2010, 02:13 PM   #1

Newbie question regarding lenses

Hello, i've been using my Pentax K-M for a few months now and decided to purchase a Tamron superzoom (18-250) to replace the very good, but limited range, Pentax Kit lens (18-55) and my old Takumar (70-200) zoom.

Before selling the takumar, i decided to compare both lenses. I noticed with the new Tammon, when set to 250mm, covers a wider area than the old Takumar, at 200mm, in other words, the Takumar zooms "further" than the Tamron eventhough the Takumar it's only 200mm. I would say that if the Tamron covers 6 degrees, the old Takumar covers approx 4 degree, at least 1.5x more zoom power, as if the takumar was actually 300 mm and not 200.

I know that regarding camera designs, a lens mounted on a digital camera is about 1.5x more thant on a film camera. But... Different zooms on the same body should be the same?

A bit confused... So is my Takumar a 300mm or the Tamron not really a 250mm?

Thanks
Phil

03-25-2010, 02:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

The focal length is measured at infinity. Are you comparing the two lenses at infinity focusing?
03-25-2010, 02:47 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by audiophil Quote

I know that regarding camera designs, a lens mounted on a digital camera is about 1.5x more thant on a film camera. But... Different zooms on the same body should be the same?

A bit confused... So is my Takumar a 300mm or the Tamron not really a 250mm?

I've run into something like this before when comparing a prime lens with the 75-300 Tamron (at a less than infinity distance). I would guess that what's going on is the Tamron is achieving focus at 250mm by shortening the length of the lens. Perhaps that's a necessary compromise in a lens with as great a range as 18-250.
03-25-2010, 03:02 PM   #4
Veteran Member