Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2010, 09:02 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Flash question?

hello i am still pretty new to photography and i wanted to know what flash( and any needed extras) should i invest in purchasing because in my photography class we cant use flash so im getting use to not using it but so many friends want night shots, me to shoot club/ music events , and other types of low light events. i have a k-x , so since i need to buy a flash anyways what should i buy so that i dont have to keep buying flashes and different things later on in my photography life?

03-25-2010, 09:05 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison: The Definitive Guide
03-26-2010, 08:35 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Basically, with flash, the FLASH exposure is solely determined by flash power (actually duration, how long the bulb is actually firing for), aperture and ISO. Ambient exposure is determined by ISO, shutter speed, and aperture (just like without any flash), so the trick is balancing the two. If I'm indoors in a smallish room (such as in someone's house), I usually just forget about ambient since the flash is powerful enough to light up the entire room (hence the 1/180s below, if the flash didn't fire, I'd have a more or less black picture) Now although you're shooting MANUAL Mode, that's only for the ambient exposure (the exposure needle in the viewfinder will blink warning you about underexposure, but ignore that). The camera's P-TTL metering will determine the needed flash output for a proper exposure.

Here's something I wrote on another forum -
"Easy" recipe for great P-TTL flash shots -
1)Point flash at ceiling/wall (to the side or behind you, experimentation is the key!)
2)Put camera in MANUAL mode on the mode dial
3)Set FEC to +1 on the flash head

4)Shoot RAW (this allows you to recover some highlights that might get blown as a result of #3 above)

5)Set ISO to 200 (to start)