Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2010, 09:46 AM   #1

Trouble copying pictures off memory card

Hi,

New user here. I just recently finally bought a dslr after being a long time K-1000 user that I had inherited from my father.

So last month before our annual trek to Disneyworld, I decided to buy the K-X.

I bought it off of Newegg with the 200mm extra lense kit.

Anyways, when I'm copying photos/videos off of the memory card using the usb mem card reader that came with it, it will error out in the middle of the copy and then won't allow me to read the card until I pull the usb reader out and re-insert it.

This has happened with both 8gig sdhc cards I'm using. So I must keep keep copying the pictures in small segments and eventually get through it all.

Is this just cheap memory cards or a bad card reader? It's VERY annoying.

Thanks for your input to this newbie here.

James

03-26-2010, 09:57 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Have you tried to connect the camera directly to the PC with the provided USB cable? See page 263 and up of your manual.

Note: without telling us which memory cards your using, we don't know if they are a possible cause.
03-26-2010, 10:04 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I had a similar problem with cheap SD cards in the past. There was always 1 image corrupted, right in the middle of the memory space. I could copy the images up to the corrupted file, but nothing beyond it. A Windows PC kept crashing, whenever I attempted tp copy anything beyond the corruptes file. On a Mac I was able to retrieve the images finally (except that 1 corrupted file).

So I guessed, there was a problem with bank switching in the card. Since I got rid of all cheap cards (bin not ebay), and completely switched to SanDisk Ultras and Extremes I never had a single problem.

Ben
03-26-2010, 10:10 AM   #4
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by sterretje Quote