Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Highlight / Shaddow correction

Disclaimer: Newbie here and I have read the manual, searched the forums, read the suggested forums before starting this thread.

I have a K-x and I am trying to figure out/understand Highlight Correction vs Shadow correction and should they be used, how can the adversely affect the picture. Obviously highlight correction makes the bottom ISO 400 but if I turn on expanded sensitivity it restores that to 200. I guess the question in a nutshell is how do these three interact, what are recommendations on these settings, and what is the downfall to using them? Thanks

03-31-2010, 03:07 PM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Isn't the bottom ISO with highlight correction on 200, not 400? And it goes to 100 with it off and Expanded Sensitivity on?

I don't use it for various reasons, although I do have shadow adjustment on at the minimal level, which will overexpose those areas a little to bring them closer to correct mid-levels and they're not just dark mud.

From what I've read, and based on the ISO restrictions when Highlight Correction is on, I prefer to not let the camera do this processing.
03-31-2010, 07:02 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
yes with expanded iso on the bottom iso is 100 and when you turn on Highlight correction the bottom becomes 200, but with expanded ISO turned off the bottom ISO is 200 and with Highlight correction on it goes to 400. I was looking for anyone who may be able to list pros and cons of the various configurations so I could understand the pluses and minus of using them
03-31-2010, 07:08 PM   #4
Forum Member

One thing that confused me: The corrections also influence the RAW file, not just the jpeg. This almost scared me, because i always thought no settings whatsoever directly influence the RAW file.