Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2010, 10:37 AM   #1
Forum Member

Help! Many Questions!

Hey everyone, I am glad to have found this Pentax forum and be able to access the wealth of knowledge by its users! I am new to DSLRs, but after do many hours of online research, I have become very impressed with Pentax's reputation of quality and value compared to the competition. However, I am disappointed that I cannot find a Pentax retailer within the entire state! I'm the type that usually has to handle something before I buy it, but it seems impossible in this situation. My main uses for the camera are for patient dental photography, outdoor landscape photography (hiking, etc), traveling and family candids. So my questions are:

1) How important is the weather sealing / ruggedness of the K-7 vs. the K-x for extensive outdoor use?
2) Would the k-x iso quality be better for dental photography than the K-7? If so, is the K-x tough enough for prolonged every day use in a dental setting?
3) Knowing what I will use the the camera for, what would be the choice of lenses? I will probably need a ring flash too. What ring flash should I get?

Abes of Maine has the K-7 body + 18-55mm WR and 55-200mm WR lens kit + 2 year warranty + 8 gb sd card for $1160. Will those lenses suffice, or do I need a dedicated macro lens for dental photography?

Although that is a great deal, I don't want to invest much more money than that right now. Is it better to go with a K-x and get a nicer lens, or do the K-7 w/ kit and get better lenses over time.

Or should I wait for the fabled K-5 or K-8 LOL!

Answers to all or any single question is appreciated!

04-02-2010, 11:06 AM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
HELLO NEIGHBOR!!!

The two main advantages of the KX over the K7 are low noise at high ISO levels (we're talking breakthrough levels), and low cost.

For durability, WR, commercial use, the K7 wins.