Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2010, 12:12 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Renting DA* 16-50mm

So I've been wanting to get my hands on this lens (DA* 16-50) and see the IQ for myself. But do to lack of funds cannot buy one at the moment.

I am considering renting one. I am taking a business trip to the NC and will be in the Blue Ridge parkway, both working and taking some time to explore.

So The question being, is it worth $100 to rent for 10 days or would I be better served putting that money away and just waiting to buy?

By the way I'm a landscape architect. So Pictures will be both for work and pleasure. I currently have DA 18-55, M-50mm 1.4, and a quantry 70-300.

Any advice and suggestions are welcomed! Thanks

04-07-2010, 01:03 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Considering how well the good lenses hold their value it is probably most efficient to buy the one you think you want and just sell it a month later if need be. That said, I spent a couple hundred renting lenses myself before plopping down a grand for the right one. I wanted the learning experience of using the different lenses as well as buying the right one. So I guess my advice is to decide if there is value to play with different lenses for 10 days besides the decision to buy. However, if the DA*16-50 is the one you really want and no others are close....just buy the damned thing.
04-07-2010, 01:52 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by imtheguy Quote
However, if the DA*16-50 is the one you really want and no others are close....just buy the damned thing.
HA! Wish it was that simple. I'd already have the thing! I think there is value in trying it. Get my hands on it and "make sure" it's the one I want. Though I am fairly certain it is what I want. The SDM is what is holding me back. I want to see a "good" copy and then make up my mind.

So maybe I'll rent one?
04-07-2010, 02:08 PM   #4
Veteran Member