Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2010, 10:36 AM   #1

Portrait lens help please

I know there are lots of posts and threads and i have read a lot and read an awful lot of reviews.
Basically i will be shooting my soon to be born son and general family portraits.
I bought the K-x for its shake reduction and low light capabilities.
I was thinking of getting a 50mm 1.4 but have now been reading up on the SMC 100mm f2.8 and the Sigma 105mm 2.8.(also the tamron)
I have a budget of about 250 so can pick up a good second had version of some of these lenses.I was looking at the old manual lenses but i think i will be better of with Auto focus as i have never used manual focus before and dont want to miss any shots i will be taking by trying to get the settings right/focus.Also some reviews say the pentax does not have a limiter switch-would this make any difference as i would not be going staright from portrait shot to macro etc.
Can anybody who has both a f1.4 50mm and any of the 2.8macro lenses advise me on which they prefer for the tpye of pictures i require.
Many thanks.

04-08-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Let me begin my saying that I don't have these lenses, but I have had the pleasure of using both of them. For what you want to do I would say the the 50mm f/1.4 would be the better choice for the situation. It is faster then 100mm f/2.8 so it would be the better choice in the low light that you will most likely shoot in. However, both of these lenses are very good and you can't go wrong with either of them, but from my experience the 50mm will be the best for the situation.

Also, congratulations on the new son!
Cory
04-08-2010, 11:59 AM   #3

I highly recommend the 50mm f/1.4 as a portrait lens. It's cropped at 75mm on your K-x so it's almost like a short tele.

This is my most used portrait lens in my cam bag because of the beautiful background blur (bokeh).