Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-12-2010, 08:31 PM   #1

Metering Issue Using M Prime (Kx)

Lately I have been noticing an issue with my Kx when I'm using my M50mm 1.7 in manual mode. Once I set the aperture and ISO, I press the green button to have the camera dial in the shutter speed for me. Fairly often it comes up with a shutter speed of 0.3". Seeing as how I am usually shooting outdoors in full sunlight, I don't understand why it would be giving me such a slow shutter. I often just have to manually dial it up to 1/6000 or whatever ends up working best (I'm still new at manual shooting, so I usually have to do a few over/under-exposed shots before i get it right).

It doesn't do this every time, but it seems to be about half the time. Is it an issue with my camera? Is the meter not able to read the scene right and just giving me that speed as a default (too bright an exposure)? Or something else altogether?

Thanks for any help regarding this, it's starting to get a bit annoying, but I'm sure it's just something simple I'm missing...

04-12-2010, 08:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I've had the same issue. When I'm using an old manual focus lens, it often defaults to 0.3" if I'm pointing it at a very bright light source. It's as if the 0.3" were the setting after 1/6000. Lately it hasn't happened, which leads me to think it was an issue with the old firmware or perhaps a settings issue.

Have you upgraded your firmware to the latest version? It fixed my battery metering issue.
04-12-2010, 09:58 PM   #3
xjx
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
I have noticed it too. The FW version is 1.01.00.07. I don't think it is a issue with the meter -- it should be a bug in the firmware -- using a smaller aperture should bring it back to normal.
04-13-2010, 07:17 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Huh, I can't make my K-x & M50 do this, unless I turn the lights low.