Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2010, 11:07 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Want to move from film to digital - recommendations?

Hi all!

I currently have a ZX-L film camera and 2 lenses - which my husband bought me about 5 years ago (it's what I wanted).

I shot about 100 pictures - and it has sat in the bag since. At the time I took a beginning photography class and had a hard time with the whole ISO/apeture thing... but I'm going to try again.

I really want to move into a digital body and have about $300 to spend (budget's a bit tight).

I can purchase a K100d refurb online, or possibly something from the marketplace.. there is a K2000 listed now.

Keeping in mind I am a COMPLETE novice and am not sure when I will move out of auto - is there a body you would recommend? I have seen a lot of reviews but am a bit confused about some of the terms being used (flare? soft? etc...)

Also - is the SIGMA 28-135mm a good 'everyday' lens? I have younger kids so my pics are mostly zoo trips, softball games, and family outings.

Thanks so much!!
Jen

04-14-2010, 11:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I did what you are looking to do, a few years ago, and went with a K100D. Not a difficult change-over -- and I bought a ZX-L since. I find the ZX-L is actually a bit more difficult to use in any sort of manual control mode than the K100D.

I recommend the K100D or K200D as great starter cameras - easy to learn, very nicely made and designed, plenty good enough image quality, and good prices. Aside from the refurb, KEH has several on sale, and you get their quality control and return policy.