Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-16-2010, 04:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Pentax K-7 vs canon T2i

Hi,
I am planning to buy my first DSLR in the next month or two and my two top choices right now are the K-7 and the Canon T2i.

I am not a professional photographer and barely an ametuer photographer, I have a baby and have been taking a lot of pictures lately and would like to have nicer prints, be able to make larger prints (greater than 8x10), and be able to shoot videos in 16:9 format. I think I have hit the limits of quality from my old point and shoot canon powershot so when going for a new camera it seems like a DSLR would be worth the money since my existing camera would still complement it instead of being totally replaced.

The T2i has a very compelling feature set but it seems like the build quality is lower than the K-7 and the value of the canon's marginal improvements in features (18 MP vs 15 MP and 1080p24 vs 720p30) seem to be balanced well by the pentax's better build quality, built-in image stabilization, and faster burst shooting. The thing that seems harder to quantify is the depth of the secondary market and accessory market for canon vs. pentax. Canon seems to have a much deeper secondary market and some very affordable accessories while the pentax market seems shallower and I am a bit confused about the lenses since they have so many different mount systems. I am also concerned about the AF because everything I have read sounds like the Pentax is slow to focus. My final concern with the K-7 compared to the T2i is the low light performance which sounds like it is poor.