Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-24-2010, 05:25 PM   #1
Inactive Account

New to DSLR's

Hey everyone I'm new to photography and just got a Pentax K-X with the DAL 18-55mm kit lens. I was wondering what the difference between the lens I have now and DA 18-55mm lens is. Also what would be another good lens to start out with? I'm looking into the SIGMA 50-200mm f/4-5.6, Pentax DA 50-200mm, or Sears 1:2.8 135mm. Here is first photo I took today with my new camera. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 

Last edited by MitchellScott; 04-24-2010 at 05:31 PM.
04-24-2010, 05:58 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you asked what sort of automobile you should buy, we would want to know whether your intention is to impress chicks or to haul a load of bricks.

Similarly, in order to know what sort of lens to recommend, it is necessary to ask "What sort of use do you plan for it?"
04-24-2010, 06:01 PM   #3
Forum Member

Hi Mitchell...... welcome to the Forum... tons of info here as well as good advice on photography from fellow shooters. Just ask away... always someone to chat with.
Concerning lenses, click on the heading at top of HOME page for LENSES,good way to learn about Pentax glass as well as 3 rd party options.
DA series of 18-55 (AL & AL II) differ from yours in a number of features,notably the "quick-focus "feature as well as metal mounts as opposed to plastic on the DA L series.
Depending on your photo interests,there are a lot of great lenses to pick from. The DA 50-200mm is a fairly decent lens as a cheaper "add-on" for your extra lens. They can usually be found in the MARKETPLACE here on the forum(used),under items for sale & reasonably priced.
Good luck with your new camera.... do some research on what interests you & keep Clickin`
04-24-2010, 06:10 PM   #4

Photos: Albums