Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-01-2010, 02:13 AM   #1

No function when SD is in by Pentax K-x

Hello dear forum members!

I just bought a new Pentax K-x and I have a real problem "starting" it.

I'm a total beginner with DSLR cameras and I read everything the manual sofar but couldn't find a solution and I hope you could help me.

The camera doesn't show any signs of functioning when the SD card is in. When I take it out, it starts and the display works but how can I make it work with the card in?

Today I turned on the camera for the first time and made the initial settings (date, time) but then it went off by itself and wouldn't start again. I thought there was something with the battery. Then I took the SD card out and tried to turn on the camera again and the display went on but you can't do anything without the card in actually, so what should I do now?

I would be very thankful for any advice!

Eliza

05-01-2010, 04:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Try a different card and use a SDHC card class 6
05-01-2010, 04:45 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Perhaps it is a problem with your sd card? Have you tried another one? I've heard that with the cheaper brands you can run into some trouble. What sort of card do you use?
05-01-2010, 04:58 AM   #4

Original Poster
SD

Thank you for the suggestions guys. Well I use a SanDisk Micro SD 2GB with Micro SD Adapter, it was originally in the package. I suppose I have to get a SDHC one instead.

05-01-2010, 05:09 AM - 1 Like   #5
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forum, although I am sorry to hear your problem. Based upon a number of earlier threads on some related topic:

- Try another SD card as suggested. Preferably a Sandisk Class 6 or above.

- Make sure that your batteries are 100% charged or better brank new Lithium batteries.

- Update your firmware to have the latest.