Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2010, 07:18 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
A comment regarding the K7 sensor and flash results

Firstly, after trolling through a large number of similar threads which are universally hijacked into "which camera is better", let me state I am not out to compare different brands.

I've recently bought an AF-360 to go with my K7. I've been shooting a bunch of flowers recently, and have generally been quite impressed. I'm still learning about flash, so please don't savage me for the examples posted.

My point is this. The K7 seems to thrive when (and only when) it gets absolutely correctly exposed pixels. If not, it seems fairly ordinary. Please don't take this the wrong way, as I find the K7 to be *the* easiest SLR (film or digital) to get acceptable results out of. I really mean this.

However it seems only to *Shine* (and it can!) in terms of recorded image IQ when the exposure is correct. My question is related to why this is:
I've noted this effect when shooting both RAW and JPG. I do not use the shadow correction, but have noted the highlight correction to be useful in some settings (contrasty light).

1) Is it a CMOS vs CCD question? My *IST DS and K200D were arguably better in daylight (ISO 100-400) in terms of fineness of results, but not as good for getting acceptable results across the frame, all of the time.

2) Is is a metering question? I usually add 0.3 EV to account for the slight noisy pixels I get as the cam works to prevent blown skies. I find the flash exposures (P-TTL and Auto) to be dead on (although focusing accuracy is another issue).

3) Any other comments? I do find that there is quite a lot of posterisation in the skies, and noise in the shadows with contrasted scenes.

4) Is it due to being in daylight and getting better saturation from the flash on contrasted days?

Examples (both are shot with the 21mm):

Good:

Not so good: