Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2007, 05:00 PM   #1

auto focus lens would not work with K10D

Hi all. I am really new to this I will try to explain my problem the best that I can. I've been using manual lenses lately and have been interchanging the auto focus kit lens with the manual lenses. I installed the firmware 1.3 a couple of days ago and I suspect that was the cause of it. It looks like the shutter would not open so it looks really dark through the viewfinder. It only happened today and its the same problem with my other autofocus lens.

07-30-2007, 05:09 PM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum. First what settings was the camera on when you tried the AF lens? It's going to be hard to help without some data about the shots tried. Do you mean the picture was dark or the viewfinder went dark for an extended time? Was the 2 second timer (MLU) on? If you put it in "P" mode and AF.C, the shot should come out fairly normal.
07-30-2007, 05:13 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Have you tried removing the batteries for a while out of the camera?

Your saying that the aperture (blades in the lens), are stuck in a position that is not allowing much light to pass through, causing your view finder to be dark?

I would check the lens contact area. Check for any scuff marks that might be caused by the manual lenses. Also check to see if the lens mount contacts are uniform on the camera body, etc... You might get a visual on your problem assuming it is a hardware issue.

If it is software, have you tried to flash your camera back to the older firmware? Not sure if this is allowed, but I cannot see why not. Just remember that flashing your camera comes with some risks. I recall a recent post on this forum of a bad flash that more or less killed the OS of the camera, necessitating a trip to a Pentax repair center.
07-30-2007, 05:32 PM   #4

Original Poster