Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-01-2007, 06:34 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Consistent underexposure on K10D

Okay, I received my K10D yesterday and the first lens (of several) I'm trying today - the 35/2. I'm freshly over from the Canon team (20D), so this is my first time taking the Pentax kit for a spin.

I'm amazed at how differently the two cameras meter and expose. I did some side by side tests and the K10D was underexposing consistently compared to the 20D. Often times the right side of the histogram was somewhere in the middle of the tonal range. These weren't particularly difficult shooting conditions, just some portraits indoors against a medium-toned wall. The Canon was getting it right every time.

I started out in evaluative metering, but then tried center-weighted and spot after the first few underexposures. I figured the K10D might be picking up on the lighter tones in the wall and biasing the exposure downward from that. When I spot and center metered directly on the model, however, there wasn't that much of a change in exposure.

I didn't read about this in any reviews and haven't seen it mentioned on forums. Has anyone here experience this? What metering mode do you find works best in general, and are there any "tricks" for getting proper exposure with the K10D that you've figured out.

Please note that although there is always room for user error , I was shooting the exact same picture with the Canon 20D and it was getting the exposure I expected.

Thanks for your help.

08-01-2007, 06:48 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Samples with exif required for best replies.
08-01-2007, 07:01 PM   #3
Veteran Member

switters
the same thing happens with both my ist*D and my K10D. I think that Pentax metering does actually consistantly underexpose. I also think you are right about the brightest highlights being favored and the rest being metered downward from that.