Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2010, 02:20 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
K20 vs. Nikon D700

O-K here's a non scientific comparison between these two cameras. A brand new Nikon D700 with it's full frame sensor versus a used generation old Pentax K20 with it's APS-C sensor. The D700 used the brand new lower line Nikon 70-300 lens while my K20 had a well used bottom end Sigma 70-300. I believe the D700 was at ISO 4000, f5.6, 1/250 sec with a Nikon SB800 flash.

I haven't got the EXIF data available on this computer but I think I was at ISO 2000+/-, f5.6, 1/180sec using a Metz 60-CT4 about 1/8 power.

A little background. I've been shooting Dirt Track Racing for several years migrating through the DSLR's up from a Pentax 1st, K100, Kx and finally to the K20. I've had the K20 for about a week and a half thanks to forum member Scott (pghwarrior23). This was my second outing with this camera. I still have a bit of shaking out to do with it to get my own settings nailed down. My results will get better as I refine my technique with this camera. I see that I've got to work on my white balance and maybe a bit of noise reduction.

The D700 is used by a friend of mine, Cory Stivison the track photographer from Lernerville Speedway. He purchased his camera at the beginning of the season and as can be seen below, has it pretty well figured out.

My images are directly from the camera with only resizing and the watermark added, as far as I know Cory's are the same.

Ironically it appears that we both took the same shot within a split second of each other, what a better comparison?

More shots of the same event from both cameras can be seen HERE or click either photo below

K20

D700

By the way, I paid $600 for the K20 while the D700 cost $2300, almost four times as much.

Comments please.

FRANK

Last edited by FWW56; 05-25-2010 at 02:28 AM.
05-25-2010, 03:30 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member