Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2010, 10:33 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
upgrade dilemma!

Hello,

I have a K100D that I have been using for 3 years or so now. It's a nice camera but I feel like it's time to upgrade...

I was using a Sigma 17-35mm but just sold it, also sold my 50mm f2 that I never used, now I have:

- 18-55mm kit lens
- 70-210mm dad's old manual lens (works fine but manual is a pain sometimes)
- opteka fisheye converter: bought for $30! really like this thing although it's a pain to screw it into the lens + I realise it's not the best fish eye out there!

I use my camera mostly for city breaks and landscapes, I do like taking portraits though but I'd rather have as less lenses as possible so not often bring all my lenses.

My question is basically is it better to have a better body with a decent lens or poor body (k100d) with good lens?? would there be a point for me updating to K200D or Kx or they remain entry level cameras?

Options are:

1) K7 + kit lens = good body with decent lens
2) Kx + 16-45mm = decent body with better lens
3) second hand K20D or K200D + kit lens + fish eye or wide angle lens (tamron 10-24mm, sigma 10-20mm or pentax 10-17mm or 12-24mm!?)
4) keep my K100D and only buy good lenses that cover everything!?

I really want a proper fisheye as I really enjoy shooting wide lanscapes and buildings... don't think the 16-45mm would be much more wider than the 18-55mm kit lens...?

Although I liked my sigma 17-35mm I always found the 35mm too short and ended up frustrated, if I want to shoot wide I'd rather have a proper wide angle, and then the kit lens (or 17-70mm) for normal pictures...?

Thanks!!
P

06-01-2010, 10:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member