Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-06-2007, 06:34 AM   #1

K100D vs K10D

So I'm going to be buying my first DSLR. I currently use a Pentax ZX-L with a 24-135mm lens. I have narrowed my choices down to the K100D super, K10D and (gasp!) the Olympus E-510. I really don't want jump off the Pentax ship, but I have been thinking about it.

I am a hobbyist/enthusiast who shoots mostly landscape, nature, family, and some action (running and triathlon events).

I like the K100D, its cheap and has a lot of features. I also love the fact that Pentax keeps the info window on the top of the camera. Its a pain in the arse to turn on the LCD screen everytime you want to change settings. The only thing I worry about with the K100D is it is only 6MP. I sometimes end up blowing my shots up to 11x17. Will 6MP be enough for that?

The K10D is a little intimidating to me. It seems like a pro camera and I'm no pro. I really don't see myself needing that many features. Plus I don't like having so many buttons.

I have read that the kit lenses on the olympus are really good. However, if I go Pentax, I was just going to buy the body and then purchase a Sigma 17-70mm. It give me a nice range with a 1:2 macro function. Then I just need to get a fast prime and a nice telephoto zoom.

So can anyone give me some compelling arguments to go with either camera.

Thanks!

08-06-2007, 07:00 AM   #2
Inactive Account

They all take beautiful photos. However, if you like to crop, more megapixels certainly would not hurt.

The K10D may look intimidating, but it is far easier to use then any entry level DSLR. The reason is that you do not have to hunt in the menu systems for common functions. Herbert Kepler wrote an article a few years ago in Popular Photography concerning the low end cameras being harder to use then the higher end cameras. I believe he was comparing two models of the now defunct Minolta line. His point still stands however.