Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-08-2010, 02:01 PM   #31
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kricha6431 Quote
I meant they have NEVER DOWSED THEMSELVES (PENTAX) IN THE DIGITAL CAMCORDER AREA, Not some 30 - 50 year ago Cam
From Jogiba, another member:

06-08-2010, 02:38 PM   #32
Pentaxian

Wow. I am amazed (not in a good way) by the people who are so dismissive of video in a DSLR.

Telling people to "get a camcorder" just proves that you don't understand the needs of motion filmmakers. Believe me, as a filmmaker, I can tell you that most camcorders are terrible. Sure, they have good ergonomics. They have purpose-built features (like sound ... but wait, so does the K7). But they do not deliver the image quality that is possible with video from a DSLR.

Regarding the ergonomic question, actually, a DSLR (without a lens) looks an awful lot like an ARRI or an AATON camera without a lens or film mag. After all, these are all just "light tight boxes". The tradition in filmmaking is to build up the rest of the camera as needed. Hand grips, rails and matteboxes, etc. are all optional, and they aren't all used at the same time. A DSLR actually fits that production paradigm quite well.

How does having good video on a DSLR affect you, the non-video shooter? It sells more cameras. Often to people who wouldn't necessarily have bought that camera without video. And often to film production companies that will buy a number of cameras. Selling more cameras = a healthier Pentax + more money for R&D + lower prices on cameras that sell more units + more interest in making and selling lenses for those cameras from Pentax and third parties.

Having video on a DSLR does not hurt a purist photographer.