Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2010, 12:56 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Can sensors go bad?

Hi, I'm new here. I'm primarily an artist but nowadays I do photography more than paint. I've been a serious photographer for over 25 years. I've got a dark room, (which I don't use anymore) and this DSLR is my 4th Pentax camera. I've had a Pentax *ist D since about the time they came out. (I think someone's cat got on the keyboard and gave it that strange name.) To be perfectly honest, I haven't been happy with the camera. The auto focus stinks and I miss a lot of shots. But it has always taken good pictures when I can get it to fire.

For the last couple months, the pictures are all over exposed and the high lights especially are washed out. It doesn't matter what lighting or which lens I have on the camera. It's hard to even correct them on my computer. Today it was overcast and the lighting was very soft and it still did it. None of the setting had been changed. I've tried changing the lighting and contrast setting and changing which meter pattern I use. I can only make it worse. Could my sensor be going bad?

Thanks

06-06-2010, 01:57 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Give us some full sized samples with EXIF intact.

To answer your question - yes they can. Often in two cases - when they are brand new (defective sensor) and when they are VERY old (had a LOT of use).

But if the sensor didnt show any odd behaviour before, or dosn't gets worse, it might as well be somethig else. Dying sensors usually get smeared stripes which progress untill the whole frame is white or black. Sometimes it is just a bad contact (sensor detached from board).

Last edited by ytterbium; 06-06-2010 at 04:43 AM.
06-06-2010, 02:36 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteQuote:
None of the setting had been changed.
Without being nasty, did you check that?