Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2007, 07:11 AM   #106
Not Registered

QuoteOriginally posted by lol101 Quote
Aside from releasing the 645D, I really cannot see how Pentax would be able to compete with higher end DSLR from C&N (where are the "pro grade" lenses in the Pentax lineup?)
The mock ups that I was speaking about were more directed to the high end lenses rather than to bodies and I agree, no competition with C and N seems logical.

IMHO the only way for Pentax to get its share of the pro business is to "think different" and go "affordable" (say 4-5K€) digital medium format but I don't know how realistic this is.[/QUOTE]

I agree 100%

As to releasing a K10D successor, I don't think Pentax can release new bodies faster than C&N which are on a 18 month turnover basis.
I am not an expert but my guess is that they hold the releases to dont interfere with the old products rather than wait for R&D to develop the new products (althought might be some exceptions), so Pentax might do it (I am just only guessing)

Since the K10 is less than a year old, I would say that announcing a new model around february 2008 to be released around june seems reasonable to me, no need to rush products out.
I agree, but the model might well be a higher end (and more expensive) model not only a K10d sucessor that can be announced now to be released soon (which translated to Pentax would be somewhere between june 2008 and december 2015)

Remember than the D200 and 30D were released 8/10 months before the K10.

10-03-2007, 10:05 AM   #107
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by benjikan Quote
I guess I'll find out when I get there...October 6-7...
Hi Ben - I guess so