Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2010, 02:36 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Pentax Kit for Afghanistan

Hello Forum,

I work as a pilot (civilian) in Afghanistan and would like to finally purchase a decent DSLR kit for use overseas and beyond. I have outgrown point and shoot cameras of various types over the years (Olympus, Minolta, Canon sd500, sx10is and sx200is).

I am attracted to the K-7 for it's performance and weather resistance. The Nikon and Canon lines appear much more expensive for the same level of performance you would get with the Pentax and DA* series lenses.

What I am considering is a K-7 with either:

18-55mm WR and 50-200mm WR
16-55mm DA* and 60-250mm DA*
DA* 55mm 1.4 (Low Light)
Appropriate Hoya lens filters to protect the end glass.

I love prime lenses from use with other SLR's. If a prime lens collection that offers weather resistance ( a must as the dust gets in everything here) is available I would prefer it. I understand the limited line of Pentax lenses is highly desirable.

Use of the camera will be a mix of action (aircraft shooting ordinance) and landscape/nature. I do seem to take a lot of Macro shots of insects and plants. I take portraits occasionally. From what I have read the K-7 is sufficient in ISO performance utilizing RAW instead of JPEG and that the reviews are somewhat overstated in that it performs to a lower standard then the competition.

Any other brand lenses are of no complaint as long as the weather sealing is comparable. Price is of lesser concern than quality and I see lenses as an investment that hold value.

I welcome suggestions and value your advice, best of all BH has a sale currently, thank you all!

Lee

06-14-2010, 03:21 PM   #2
Pentaxian