Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-17-2010, 07:20 PM   #1

K7 Blinking F

I am completely new to real photography of any sort, so forgive my ignorance and please speak non-jargon language.

I just purchased a K7 with a Sigma DG 28-300 lens. I put the lense on, turned the camera on and then followed the basic setup instructions. Once I completed that all I get is a flashing F--- and I can not take any pictures. I have tried turning the camera to every different mode, but still just the same thing.

I saw reference to the flashing F in other posts, but those had to do with using the camera with an older manual lens. But this is a brand new auto lens.

My fear is that the lens is actually not compatible with the camera and I got duped by the sales guy. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

06-17-2010, 07:38 PM   #2

Original Poster
K7 with Sigma DG 28-300mm

I just purchased the K7 with the Sigma lense and all I can get is a flashing F in the display, it will not let me take any pics. Any help?

note: I am a complete newbie so please keep it simple.

Thanks,
06-17-2010, 07:40 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Make sure the aperture on the lens is set to 'A'. That should take care of the problem.
06-17-2010, 07:43 PM   #4

Original Poster
Nope. I had already checked that, doesn't help.

06-17-2010, 08:11 PM   #5
Veteran Member

This thread is a duplicate of another. I'd suggest keeping replies to the other thread:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/105046-k7-sigma-dg-28-300-a.html
06-17-2010, 08:14 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Brooksy, the flashing F___ means that the camera cannot read the aperature information from the lens. It literally cannot 'see' the F stop.

The sigma should provide this information, so there is something wrong.