Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2010, 06:17 PM   #1
Inactive Account

k-x DA40mm indoor cat shoot?

I am new to Pentax and heard lot of good things on k-x. I am wondering if any of you have experience on indoor cat shoot? I have a grey cat and would like to get k-x to shoot him. Previously I used D700 and 50MM F1.4, the auto focus was great but I really don't like the default awb of jpg. I googled lots and found k-x has great performance on high ISO as well. I know the auto fucus may NOT be fast as D700, but I could bear it if it is reasonable fast.

My question then goes to DA40 F2.8, it is enough for indoor shoot working with ISO1600 or even 3200 on K-X? DA*55 F1.4 is another choice for me, however, I heard it is far slower than DA 40. I'd appreciate any helpful advice. Thanks in advance.

06-20-2010, 08:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Unles it's unusually dark, f/2.8 and ISO 1600 or 3200 is almost always good enough for a shot of a cat (or person) as long as it isn't moving around too much - shutter speeds would typically be at least 1/30" in a room lit to levels you'd consider reading by.

If you have further questions that are more lens-specific, though, please ask them in the lens forum, not this one.

Last edited by Marc Sabatella; 06-21-2010 at 10:28 AM.
06-20-2010, 09:05 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I think if you're familiar and used to a D700 going to a K-x will only feel like constraining yourself.

If you weren't happy with the white balance of the JPEG's it produced, why not try shooting in RAW and adjusting white balance accordingly in post-production?
06-20-2010, 10:55 PM   #4
Veteran Member

D700 to K-x....

The DA40 and the K-x are a great combo for lots of shooting scenarios, including pet photos like the kind you have described. That lens is tack sharp across the frame and has excellent colour and contrast rendition.