Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2010, 06:12 PM   #1

K-X and Pentax Utility 4 Problems

Hi there!

I am new to Pentax and to the forum. I recently bought a Pentax Black K-X and I am not having much success with it.

I am a former Olympus user, specifically the E420 and I bought the K-X based on tons of positive reviews. I considered it an upgrade from the E420 due to the better processor, image stabalization video ability and so on.

I am finding it very difficult to get sharp images with this camera. When I do get them they're amazing but they seem few and far between.

I generally shoot full manual however I've tried a variety of modes, metering settings, and AF focus settings. It seems to be very hit or miss and regretably it's mostly miss.

I am using the kit lens 18 55 mm as its all I have a the moment and at this point unless I sort it out (and it could just be the user) I am not interested in purchasing other lenses.

I do seem to think that this lens has a rather narrow depth of field. The Olympus 4/3 rds lenses may be more forgiving??

The other issue that I am having is that the utility software that came with the camera no longer works.

I've reinstalled it to no avail. It worked after the first install and I played around with it for a while. It seemed pretty interesting. I shut down the PC and when I booted back up the next day it wouldn't work.

Interestinly I have installed this on two PC's and had the exact problem on each.

I know there are many experienced users here and I realise that I have much to learn.

Insight and advise are greatly appreciated

THANKS!!

Lucas

06-24-2010, 08:07 PM   #2

Lens upgrade

Ive had a kx for about 6 mths. Personally, I never got any really good shots with the kit lenses. So, I bought a Pentax 12-24 wide angle, Pentax 50 mm 1.4 and a Tamron 17-70 and I am getting incredible pics out of the KX now. I love it.
06-25-2010, 05:02 AM   #3

Original Poster