Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2010, 06:46 PM   #1

I want a Pentax, but which one?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

My head is spinning from all the research. I'm leaning away from the C and the N because, well I don't like the feel of the C's in my hand and the N's I like but are pricey (and heavier than I'd like). I also owned a Pentax K1000 that a teacher gave me in 1985. My first camera and I loved it dearly. I want that feeling back! LOL.

I'm an amateur hobbyist that's been away from photography for a long-time. I'll be honest. As much as I think I'll be out there being really artsy, I'll probably mostly be taking pictures of my fast moving kids inside our not well lit house or at the soccer field. A challenge in it's own right and probably the best practice for a learning photographer. When I do pry the younguns from my ankle and get out there in the world to do photography as an art, I will likely be roaming the streets of NYC taking candids of interesting faces and interesting city life moments. I also really want to learn to do macro photography because most inanimate things don't seem interesting to me unless I'm really, really, really close.

Now to the camera. I have none right now. And I have cheap (umm, frugal, hard-working) husband that's pushing for a smaller budget. I could probably push to $1k, but he'll want me closer to $600-$700.