Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-13-2007, 07:27 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Getting ready to order k100d... a couple questions

...and thank you all in advance for being SO helpful!! TOTAL newbie so feel free to roll your eyes cuz it's not like I can see ya

I am getting ready to order my camera and want to add "something."

Is THIS mislabeled? Is it a flash? And if it IS a flash... should I get it, the price is cheap! If it's not a flash... what the heck IS it?...lol!

Pondering this lens... ( PHOENIX MF 28mm f:2.8 Wide Angle Lens 59.99) thought it would be kinda fun to have and it seems pretty inexpensive.

They also have Pentax SMCP-A Zoom 35-80mm f/4.0-5.6 for 69.99, but I am not sure I would want that lens because I eventually want a longer zoom than that.

Should I add any of these things... or just stick to the kit lens for now? I am going to this camera from a Fuji s6000 that has a fixed 28-300mm Fujinon 10.7x optical zoom lens and I am a little afraid I am going to miss that zoom

I pretty much take pics of kids, pets, some nature. Some indoors... some out!

Thanks again!

Last edited by lapeen; 08-13-2007 at 07:36 AM.
08-13-2007, 08:24 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Colleen,
As the only other Mainer on this forum let me welcome you. IMO you have made a wise choice. I'll leave the flash questions to somebody else because I don't use flash.
As far as the lenses are concerned, how much experience do you have shooting in manual mode? Is that something you would consider? If so, there are better and less expensive alternatives.
BTW, watch out for the upsell pressure you will get from Abes. Check out the K100D pricing at Buydig.com, b&hphoto, and Adorama. You might find better pricing and no upselling.

regards,
Ken