Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-09-2010, 07:47 AM   #166
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by GeneV Quote
I wonder about that. My film bodies are as small or smaller than most of my DSLRs, including my autofocus FSLR with built-in flash. Engineers have all the area taken up by the two film reels for batteries and electronics, and I don't see why they can't get the bodies to the same size for full frame as film, but then I'm not an engineer.

It has always seemed to me that engineers worked from the FF size body and built APS-c into it, rather than designing a body around the smaller sensor from scratch. I suspect this results in large part from using the K-mount lens, which then determines the diameter of the mount and the depth of the box.
I'm not saying that smaller FF cameras can't be developed. I'm just saying that there's a lot more to it than simply slapping a FF sensor into the existing bodies.

07-09-2010, 08:16 AM   #167
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by TaoMaas Quote