Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2010, 04:07 PM   #1

Started a second system!

Lately I've been reading a lot of posts in this forum from members who are questioning whether they should abandon Pentax and go with Canon/Nikon/Sony, etc.. because they are not quite satisfied with the performance of their current gear. Many loyal Pentaxians will stick up for Pentax no matter what, which is admirable but with perhaps a little too much emotion & fervor. Others recognize the deficiencies in our gear and try to work around it, abandon ship, or adopt a 2nd system.

I started shooting Pentax near the beginning of last year as I wanted to get a camera system that would take nice pictures when I travel - and to that end, it has served very well. Compact bodies that are tough and weather resistant (when connected to the appropriate lens), small primes with impressive IQ, in-body SR, all add up to make a great travel camera.

At the time, I didn't know much about photography but since then it has developed into more than just a hobby, it's become a passion of mine and through that passion it has started generating income as well. I've shot some events recently (an MBA graduate formal and a couple of weddings) as primary and secondary shooter and in those situations, the short comings of the Pentax system made things more difficult than I would have liked.. primarily it's AF difficulty in low-light, slow AF in general, and something not usually mentioned in these sorts of threads, the inability to rent k-mount lenses. Those who shoot pro on a regular basis may have all their focal lengths covered with quality glass but if I had needed access to lenses that I didn't own, I wouldn't have any rental options (at least not here in Ontario).