Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2010, 06:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
another "Upgrading to K7 From K10" post

So I've been shooting with a K10 for 3 1/2 years now. And I really want a second body, so I'm saving up for a K7. I'm just about ready to buy it but have two concerns. I keep reading about people not happy with the high ISO shots with the K7. Is it better or worse at high ISO's than the K10? Also, I am concerned with the different buttons on the back. How much is it going to take to get used to the new buttons as compared to the K10? I am going to start doing weddings. (Next year I have my first scheduled) and if I have both my K7 and my K10 around my neck to use for weddings, will I get confused going from one to the other with changing settings if the buttons are at different spots?

I'm excited to try the K7, but I still LOVE my K10 and I am one of those who hates change...why change a good thing? and I'm just concerned I will have a hard time getting used to the K7. That and the noise issue I read about concerns me.

07-05-2010, 07:03 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Got mine last week before the price increase. The noise issue is over rated and you will adjust easily to the different button placement.
07-05-2010, 07:12 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Price increase!? Shoot!! Didnt' realize it was increasing!
07-05-2010, 10:30 AM   #4
Inactive Account

K-7 14.6MP SLR Digital Camera Black (Body Only) at Central Digital

Consider that the K10d only goes to 1600 ISO. The K7 is clean enough for most purposes at that point. Beyond there may be more dependent on your actual scene. In other words, if you're shooting black on black in a dark room, you're going to see some noise.