Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2007, 09:10 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Why the D-BG2 battery grip

Hey guys, I just purchased the K10D and am wondering who needs or why one needs the grip. Is there some special reason I should buy this or is it just for the pros?

Thanks,
Ray

08-14-2007, 09:36 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Ray,

I'm not a pro, but I bought the grip on recommendation of others on this forum. My local camera shop didn't have one to try out, so I just ordered the grip along with my K10D from Amazon. I wouldn't be out much money with the Pentax double-body rebate + grip rebate (for buying both at once) and could always sell the grip if I didn't like it.

I like it. It improves the camera's already good ergonomics. The portrait orientation grip and controls are handy. It's a great way to store a second battery, spare memory card and the IR remote. The camera, with grip and 40mm pancake lens mounted, fit in my small Domke bag with plenty of room to spare. If weight and/or bulk will be an issue (e.g., backpacking) I can always leave the grip at home.

I recommend the D-BG2. It's not just for pros.

Regards,
Daryl
08-14-2007, 09:36 PM   #3
Veteran Member

These are the reasons you might use the grip:

Longer battery life without swapping batteries (Note: The K10D's battery life on a single battery is quite respectable anyway.)

Different balance with some lenses - Some like the feel of big cameras better.

Much easier control when taking pictures in portrait orientation - The battery grip also has a secondary shutter button and control dials.

I've been tempted by the battery grip but so far have prioritized other things such as lenses and flashes.
08-14-2007, 10:17 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I do about half my shooting with the grip and half without.