Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-08-2010, 08:53 PM   #1

The price of used k-7

Hello guys,
I am new to pentax DSLR, but have been tempted by the features of k-7 for a long time. These days found the new k-7 price dropped to $740 after Bing cash back, thought it is the right time to buy a used k-7 at $500 or something close, but after searching on the ebay, found the used k-7 sells for near $700. What's the reason that ppl want to buy a used one almost at the same as the new one? I am really confused!

Sorry if my question is too naive.....

07-08-2010, 09:36 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
Sorry Bro.
People really overprice there stuff because they think its better then what it really is, just go to craigslist and you will see all the philistines. If you are looking for a body-only K-7 then you MIGHT find one at that price but it wont be easy. The K-7 is still a very new camera with timeless features like WR, even older bodies like the K-20 still sell for 500 bucks and more on KEH.com. Also be aware that if you find a K-7 for 500, it will most likely be in a condition you wouldnt like very much. Perhaps if you have the time, you will wait for a new Pentax body to come out so the price of the K-7 drops. Many people think a new pentax body will come out or at least be announced by early 2011.

Hope I could help, good luck
07-08-2010, 10:34 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the tip. Yes, a good camera deserve to hold it's price for a while. Maybe I shoud just wait for another several months. Just still don't understand what motivated ppl to bid at that high price and don't get a new one with warrantee. Is the pentax wattantee transferable or not?
07-08-2010, 11:41 PM   #4
Veteran Member

For sure the e-bayer who bought it for that price cannot purchase it online at the same price due to custom tax/VAT.

In my country (Romania, EU) a K7 kit is 1200 USD so I would buy one for 700 on ebay...