Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-15-2007, 09:19 AM   #1
Forum Member

Low Light Manual Focusing?

Hi everyone. This is my first post here aside from the one in the introductions forum. This looks like a really cool website with a lot of knowledgable people here; I'm sure I'll be able to learn a lot!

I've been using point & shoot digital cameras for a few years now and just recently decided to move up to something more. I went with a K100D and got the kit lens and the FA 50mm f/1.4. I'm very happy with everything so far, but I'm having one problem.

Since the places I shoot are so dimly lit the autofocus hunts a lot and I've switched to using manual focus. The problem is that I'm very bad at manually focusing! A lot of the shots I take are out of focus because I just can't seem to tell in the viewfinder. Does anyone have any advice for getting better at manually focusing other than "practice makes perfect?" I'm definitely going to practice as much as I can but if you have any tips I'd love to hear them.

Here are a few shots I've taken with the 50mm that show what I mean. These are the better ones and they're still looking really soft.

Big Apple Monday-1317.jpg on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Big Apple Monday-1333.jpg on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Ithaca Hayloft-0670.jpg on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

08-15-2007, 09:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Exif data would help a lot. To me they look more like motion blur than out of focus.
08-15-2007, 09:24 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Deni Quote
Exif data would help a lot. To me they look more like motion blur than out of focus.
You can get the EXIF data by clicking the Flickr link and then hitting "More Properties" near the lower right corner of the page (under the camera link). Flickr mangles the EXIF data when it resizes and I don't have access to the original files right now. Sorry about that.
08-15-2007, 09:36 AM   #4