Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-12-2010, 05:33 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
focus hunting in low light

Hi!
I'm new to dslr, I had for years a P&S A710IS, and for last year I have used manual settings for most of the shots.
Last Friday I brought home the new k-x and started learing the basics of camera operations. so finally around mdnight I went to balcony and started shoting night pictures. The ones including high contrast areas were ok, I played with the night scene setings, night shots, manual shots, etc. Focus was ok, hunting a little, but not exagerated.
But whrere the contrast area were not that obvious, the camera was hunting for focus forever, and still was out of focus.
I tried for manual focus, but my dioptry is slightly bigger (-2,75) than the compensation on the camera (-2,5), and had a hard time to adjust the focus. In good light, I have no problem to MF

Another point are the indor shots in low light conditions. I was taking shots with D40 of my brother in law, comparing with k-x. The pictures are taken with default portrait settings, for both cameras, AUTO (no manual adjustment), and subject is my daughter. D40 shots are brighter. I have no doubt that the results will be in favor of k-x if I would take the time to setup corectly the camera, but I am talking fast snapshots here.

Q1: please advise about night shots in low light low contrast outside;
Q2: please comment on the AUTO portrait settings for indor low light;

P.S.
Please do not jump saying that DSLR is for compozition and thinking of pictures, not for P&S. I know that very well, just sometimes you have to take a snapshot, and the default AUTO settings should give a good result.

Last edited by sorin; 07-12-2010 at 05:53 AM.
07-12-2010, 05:42 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums