Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2010, 10:48 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Storing Your Gear At Home

Moisture & Fungus are the biggest enemy of photo gear.
So how do you store your cameras, lenses, accessories at home?
Here is what I have been doing for the last 30 years at US $ 3 per box. And have not lost a lens or camera to moisture, fungus or general rot.
Here is the Army Ammunition Box I use - from the flea market or Army Surplus Store. Never lost anything to fungus or general rot.
Look at the amount of stuff stored in one box. I removed everything from their original cases for a good view.
Very compact size 12 x 7.5 x 6 inches - the top cover comes off. There is a very heavy duty removable rubber seal in the lid - refuses to rot even after 40 years or so. I clean it with a little talcum powder once in 5 years.
The box bottom is padded with foam, and I insert some foam in between lenses too.
I dunked one of the boxes in a bucket of water for the night. Next morning it was absolutely dry inside.

Last edited by nanhi; 11-19-2012 at 08:32 AM.
07-19-2010, 11:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'm assuming that when you dunked the case into water, you had the rubber seal in place so that no water got inside. This is very interesting, I might do this as well. I'm a sucker for old military gear!
07-19-2010, 12:50 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Sounds good

I think I'll have to check these out
07-19-2010, 04:38 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums