Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2013, 01:02 PM - 1 Like   #2071
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I was on a boat trip to Antarctica and everyone was taking photos furiously. From about 200 persons, I looked for and found two other Pentaxes. One guy bought it to replace his canon because he wanted something smaller and the other gentlemen said he used it for the weather proofing. While zooming around on these little rubber ducks between spray and penguin poop, I was repeatedly warned to cover my camera by everybody else, but I kept my DA*300 or 18-135WR on the K5 and carried on taking pictures. No problems.

Two really serious Nikon D3 and D4 guys as well and they could focus much better than my K5 on birds on the water . I have some nice in focus backgrounds of waves with a blurry albatross in front, even when using spot focus, but otherwise, great!

So very rare, and I can see why. Here in Africa, I could buy it from overseas with the concomitant potential problems with warranty returns etc, but I persevered and have been very happy ( and a bit pig headed )

02-16-2013, 05:33 AM   #2072

Maybe I'll get one as a second body in the future if I could use all my manual lens without the need for an adapter with glass. I'll continue saving for a second body and keep the Pentax on my radar.
02-16-2013, 08:01 AM   #2073
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Nikonshooter Quote
Maybe I'll get one as a second body in the future if I could use all my manual lens without the need for an adapter with glass. I'll continue saving for a second body and keep the Pentax on my radar.
You can use all your k-mount manual lenses without an adapter. You would need an adapter for m42 screwmount lenses, however.
02-18-2013, 09:21 PM   #2074
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

And FYI- the M42 adapter does not use glass! Quite a nice set up!

02-19-2013, 01:52 AM   #2075