Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2399 Likes Search this Thread
07-16-2019, 03:27 AM - 1 Like   #5566
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by clackers Quote
I reckon your niece would be unhappy if the prices of Pentaxes doubled in order to pay for the advertising attempt to go from two percent to four percent of the market, Kevin. She might as well stop listening to her uncle and buy a Canon or Nikon instead!

I think actually numbers would need to be seen before making such a broad and bold statement. Pentax would only need a couple bodies in sight and maybe a kit lens or two for their brand to be seen. But as I stated, I'm not a marketing expert but what I do know to be fact is the marketing of the Pentax brand is sub-par if not non existent.

QuoteQuote:
She might as well stop listening to her uncle and buy a Canon or Nikon instead!
Are you stating that if Pentax prices become more like Nikon or Canon that Pentax would no longer be worth buying? From your statement one would assume (from your point of view) that Pentax just wouldn't be good a good value, so skip over it and buy Nikon and Canon. :-)

There is an old marketing adage - "If you want to make money, you need to spend money".

Before this rabbit hole gets any deeper, I'll kindly bow out. I never cared much for speculation.

Last edited by kevinWE; 07-16-2019 at 03:38 AM.
07-16-2019, 05:02 PM - 1 Like   #5567
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kevinWE Quote
I think actually numbers would need to be seen before making such a broad and bold statement. Pentax would only need a couple bodies in sight and maybe a kit lens or two for their brand to be seen. But as I stated, I'm not a marketing expert but what I do know to be fact is the marketing of the Pentax brand is sub-par if not non existent.