Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2395 Likes Search this Thread
12-25-2011, 10:51 PM   #1306

I see there are several of us in this blog with shared commonalities; as for instance age, photo experience, and why not, love for the brand even if the brand doesn't return in kind.

I am 56 years old, started photography as a hobby in my college years with a borrowed Canon rangefinder shooting B&W and doing OK.

While in my first years of professional work (I am a chemical engineer by training) I progressed to a fabulous Spotmatic F with a thread f/1.4 lens. Unfortunately that camera was stolen from me. But in consolation I bought an ME (prior model to the ME Super) with the k-mount f/1.4 lens. The camera broke several years and dozens of rolls later but was kept around at home.

I went through a couple film p&s missing the quality of the SRL but unable to do anything about it. I entered the digital age around 2001 with a Nikon Coolpix 950 that works great, and later a Canon SD450 that also takes great photos. But not as great as my last camera.

Now I am almost a year since I bought my K-x and loving it. I haven't counted how many photos I have taken with it but it must be for sure logging around the 20k figure. And one plus of it is that I have my 32 year old k-mount f/1.4 lens that takes great bokeh photos. In summary, I like what I have and try to enjoy it as best possible taking lots of photos knowing that some will be great.

My immediate plans are to try to get one of those (used) Tamron or Pentax 18-250 discontinued AF zooms for better all-around performance. Anyone here thinking in selling one? Meanwhile, enjoy these fine pieces of engineering. Cheers.

01-04-2012, 03:37 PM   #1307

Photos: Gallery
I just got the latest issue of Digital PhotoPro magazine in the mail, and the ad on the back cover was for a photo lab called duggal.com. In the picture for the ad, the photographer was shooting Pentax!
01-04-2012, 04:15 PM   #1308