Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2016, 10:18 PM   #4201
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sherrvonne Quote
Me with my K3 am teaching my aunt from Arkansas how to use her Nikon D3200. I have never used a Nikon aside from picking up her camera and shooting pics of her with it. So far it's going good. Hey, I'm learning a big brand now? Lol
That's really great! First day of my photo classes I tell the students, in order of worst to best how to learn any subject:

a) Listen, watch, stay awake.
b) Take notes.
c) Ask questions.
d) Do it!!!!
e) Teach it.

Before I became a teacher, I believed that saying, "those who can't, teach". That might be true of a bad teacher, but from day one as a teacher, I discovered that I often learned more about what I was teaching, than the student. Students ask all kinds of off the wall questions, and you really got to know your stuff. Daily I'm looking at and helping students with ancient Canon Digital Rebel Xs and Nikon D40 to brand new Canon T6s, Nikon D3300, D750, and yes, for the first time, I have FOUR students (out of 100) with a Pentax K-50! It's a hard sell in a state with a huge Canon presence and zero brick and mortars carrying Pentax. Costco's limited online sales of Pentax helped.

Kudos again on helping your Aunt. She must really appreciate it, and you must be a good teacher that she listens to you and has broken old auto settings habits.

01-30-2016, 12:42 AM   #4202
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Alex645 Quote
That's really great! First day of my photo classes I tell the students, in order of worst to best how to learn any subject: