Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2019, 03:10 AM   #5416

I feel like Sony has become a major player in the last few years. Of the 2 or 3 pros I am friends with, they all swear by it now. They switched to Sony for video because Canon is so dire for it, and most have just dropped canon completely to go with it.

03-26-2019, 06:55 AM   #5417
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by reh321 Quote
Back when I was a Canon user, the only non-Canon lens in my bag was a Sigma 10-20mm.
Today, the only non-Pentax lens in my bag is a Sigma 10-20mm.
Amen. That's also the only non-Pentax lens that I have. But, I use it a lot.
03-26-2019, 07:40 AM - 7 Likes   #5418
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Former Pentax Phtojournalist

From 1993 through 2005 I worked as a photojournalist for a weekly newspaper in the suburbs of Pittsburgh, PA. The first 35mm camera I used as a teenager was my dad’s Pentax Spotmatic.My dad bought me a Sears KSX (Ricoh KR-10) for Christmas in 1982. It used Pentax K mount lenses. When I bought my first SLR it was a Pentax MX, followed by an ME Super in high school. When the photojournalist job came along, I ditched the ME Super for a Super Program with a motor. I the bought a 5 FPS motor for the MX to shoot high school sports.

As my coverage area and rolls of film per week grew, the addition of a second used Super Program and another MX helped spread the load and allow me to shoot color reversal and two speeds of B&W on assignments. All, and I do mean all, the other photographers I ever met on my job used Nikons exclusively. No Canon, no Minolta all Nikon. Many of the photographers made smart remarks about my Pentax cameras. Well, I got great results carrying lighter cameras with better ergonomics which cost me less money!