Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2395 Likes Search this Thread
07-12-2020, 12:29 PM   #6286
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Alex645 Quote
I am a two system photographer (Nikon & Pentax) and appreciate the merits of using both. Both the D610 & Df were released in 2013. The D610 is a 24MP FF sleeper because of the entry level pricing, whereas the 16MP Df....is an overpriced beautiful looking camera. Yes, the retro knobs and material finishes are more to my taste, but if the IQ on the D610 is "superb", the real IQ upgrade for a $1000 less than the Df would be a 36MP Nikon D810 (2014).

But for the same price as a D810, the 36MP Pentax K1-II (2018) has way more features (pixel shift, IBIS, astrotracer, articulating screen, etc.). The only advantage of the Df would be legacy Nikkor lenses that match the 16MP sensor better than a 36MP sensor.
I think we are straying off topic a bit here, but I agree with your analysis. The Df appeals as a walk around camera for use with a selection of small primes. My D610 does not get much use due to its bulk and I do not like its functionality. When I do use it its usually at base ISO bolted to a tripod for these reasons. The D810 would be no improvement in this regard. The K1 represents better value than either of them to me, would be very nice indeed and in pure image terms would offer me something new, but it would not solve my F mount problem. As an aside I use either my K3, KP, Fuji XT1 or one of my many film bodies as a walk around camera, so I am not sure a K1 would get much use for this purpose due to its not inconsiderable bulk,but it would be come my landscape tool of choice.

07-16-2020, 02:18 PM - 1 Like   #6287
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by amc654 Quote