Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2010, 07:21 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Focusing screen for K-x

I plan to buy focusing screen for k-x from focusingscreen.com

Focusing Screen

Moreover I plan to buy either Ec-b, Ec-L or K3.

I am inclining towards k3 since it has both microprism plus split image. However, I have no prior experience using focusing screen before so can anyone recommend which one people generally uses?

Thanks
Yusuf

08-08-2010, 07:45 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I've used the K3 a number of times with Pentaprisms and they worked well enough, though I found them to be to dark for the K200D/Kx viewfinder. So I switched to Katzeye screens with optibright instead. Which actually makes the viewfinder a little brighter than stock.
08-08-2010, 08:11 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by JohnBee Quote
I've used the K3 a number of times with Pentaprisms and they worked well enough, though I found them to be to dark for the K200D/Kx viewfinder. So I switched to Katzeye screens with optibright instead. Which actually makes the viewfinder a little brighter than stock.
Is it darker than stock focusing screen comes with k-x? I am fine if it is not brighter than stock but darker would be an issue.

Also, How about ec-b or ec-l?
08-08-2010, 08:22 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by yusuf Quote
Is it darker than stock focusing screen comes with k-x? I am fine if it is not brighter than stock but darker would be an issue.

Also, How about ec-b or ec-l?
Yes unfortunately it ends up being darker. Which isn't always a bad thing since the prism(or collar) is the original brightness, therefore, the area of focus ends-up being accentuated and in the film days, this was quite popular(people liked it).
As for the other screens, I've never tried them. So perhaps someone else will have something to share on those.

08-08-2010, 09:20 AM   #5
Veteran Member