Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2010, 11:15 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Color saturation--iso vs. shutter time

I've been an amateur photo bug, shooting with Pentax since 1963. I went digital about two years ago with the K-10 welded to a FA 100 macro. I've gotten into a groove with my shooting, producing some excellent scientific photography. Plants in macro on a tripod account for 99% of my shots. Just recently, a visiting friend and fellow plant nut caught the Pentax bug and bought a new K-7 with a DFA 100 WR macro. In lieu of a tripod, his hand held approach has been to use higher iso (400/800) so he can use f/16 or higher for good DOF. Since I am tripoded, I always use iso 100. I figured it will give me the highest quality (as did Asa 55 Velvia film) and what's a few seconds more with the shutter open? Also, in an early test of my K-10 using f/16 in all iso levels, anything over 200 didn't seem so great. But I have to continually question my approach in the quest for unattainable perfection. When I look at my friend's recent 800 iso shots, the quality seems much better than on my K-10. Is this just a sub-conscious desire for a new K-7 or is the CCD actually that much better? Also, when I'm shooting at long exposure times, i.e. 3-10 sec. +, are there color saturation or other technical issues that might actually decrease the quality of the shot?

08-21-2010, 11:53 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Something I learned fairly recently is that with long exposures over 1s, you can get stray light coming in and reaching the sensor from your viewfinder, causing loss of contrast and other yucky flare-like effects, if you don't cover the viewfinder with the included cap.
08-22-2010, 12:52 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums