Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-26-2010, 10:21 AM   #1
Forum Member

New Pentax or move on?

I am planning to give my wife my K100D. She used it recently on a trip and fell in love with it. Took some great pictures too.

So... what should i buy for myself. Wait and see what the K-r is like or just buy a k-x now? Why have some cameras been announced Canon and sony in particular but not Pentax? Why the big mystery?

my head has also been turned by the A55. i like the idea of having capable video as well. I am not a pro just a consumer and will probably never realize the full potential of a DSLR. I am a typical consumer.

I like the IS being in camera with Pentax and Sony. Sony I would have to buy new lenses, not sure if they are expensive. I have a few lenses for the Pentax that I could share with my wife.

so what say you guys? K-x, K-r, A55?

08-26-2010, 10:35 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I would definitely vote wait, it will be less than a month to find out what is in store - a new entry level will likely drive down the price of the K-x once announced as well. This is probably the primary reason new camera announcements are held as long as possible by Pentax - since they are a small brand they need to hold their forthcoming product close to the vest in order to not affect current sales (which is obviously a double edged sword!).

I agree the A55 is definitely an interesting offering from Sony. If you already have a handful of lenses to use with Pentax, there isn't much reason to end up running 2 systems, it will just creat overlap and limit the funds you have to spend on additional lenses down the road (if you are so inclined).
08-26-2010, 10:37 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Since you already have some Pentax lenses I would definitely stay with Pentax (also I hear from people that Sony lenses are good but no where near as good as the better Pentax lenses).