Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2010, 09:03 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Pentax K7 LCD Rotation feature is infuriating

I've only had my K7 for a few weeks now and i'm still learning the in's and outs of the body but one thing that i have not been able to figure out is how to turn OFF that irritating feature that makes the lcd image flip 90 degrees whenever i tilt the camera. I utterly dispise it, and so far i have found nothing in the menu to turn it off. Please tell me that i'm missing it.

09-01-2010, 09:09 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Irritating? I find it wonderful. It annoys me that other camera's don't have this feature, including so-called "better specced' Canikons.

Having said that, i believe the function you are looking for is #34 under the custom menu."Auto Image Rotation".
09-01-2010, 09:25 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by trevisthomas Quote
Please tell me that i'm missing it.

OK. You're missing it.

Ooops, I guess I was late :-D
09-01-2010, 11:19 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I take almost as many photos in Portrait orientation as with Landscape orientation.
I think the Auto-Rotate feature is a very nice feature, so that "Up" is always "Up" when I review my picture.
Anyway, like so many other settings on the K-7, its customisable.

09-02-2010, 12:56 AM   #5
Inactive Account

I just turn the display off for shooting. Press the Info button until it turns off and you don't have to look at it.

09-02-2010, 09:50 AM   #6
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
I love this feature as well. I am impressed that it actually works correctly when you tilt the camera to either side.

I guess it I was annoyed with it I would suggest the previous solution of simply turning the lcd off when shooting and/or turn off the photo review option so you don't get a sideways camera data or a sideways photo on the screen
09-02-2010, 10:08 AM   #7
Veteran Member